This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Share |


Following the 2018 IPS Elections for Officers for 2019-20, the following three Officers were elected:

President-Elect: Kaoru Kimura, Japan Science Foundation, Tokyo, Japan

Executive Secretary: Patty Seaton, Howard B Owens Science Centre and Planetarium, Maryland, USA

Treasurer: Ann Bragg, Anderson Hancock Planetarium, Ohio, USA

Congratulations to the abovementioned Officers! These terms of office will begin on January 1, 2019. Thank you also to others who stood for these elections, and thank you also to Webmaster Alan Gould for once again facilitating the electronic voting.


During October and November 2018, IPS members also voted on changes to the IPS By-Laws to reflect the new proposed governance structure of IPS. (Shortly, Council will vote on the necessary changes to the Standing Rules.)

The changes to the By-Laws, passed with a greater than two-thirds majority (as required), were:

In all instances within the By-Laws, the word 'Council' has been replaced by the word 'Board', or the words 'the Board', as the case may be.

Article IV, Section 4 has been changed to read 'The Board shall appoint an Elections Committee consisting of a Chair and at least six (6) additional committee members selected from the list of the members of the Society before January 1 of even-numbered years. As far as possible the committee shall include at least one (1) member from each of the six continental zones specified in Article VI, Section 1. The committee shall not include current Officers.'

Article VI Section 1 has been replaced with: 'The Board shall consist of the Officers and up to three board members from each of the following six geographic zones: Africa, North America, South America (including Central America and the Caribbean), Asia, Europe, and Oceania. The number of board members from each region shall be one for regions with fewer than 50 current IPS members; two for regions with between 50 and 499 current IPS members; and three for regions with 500 or more IPS members. IPS members in countries, or regions or territories of countries, which may be seen as belonging to more than one such zone, shall define the zone to which such countries or regions belong, with the final decision in this regard being made by the Board. The word 'Board' as herein used and the word 'Directors' as may be used in the Articles of Incorporation and for other legal documents shall be held to mean one and the same thing. Members of the Board must be current members of the Society.'

Article VI Section 2 has been deleted.

The original Article VI Section 3 has been renumbered as Section 2, and has been changed to read: 'Section 2. The elected Officers and board members each have one vote at Board meetings, except for the Chair of the meeting, who shall not vote except to break a tie.

A new Article VI Section 3 has been inserted: 'Section 3. This Article shall be effective with the first seating of the Board.'

Election history: 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2014 (special election), 2016.

about ips | find a planetarium | officers | privacy policy

International Planetarium Society, Inc | c/o Ann Bragg, Treasurer | Marietta College, 215 Fifth Street | Marietta, Ohio 45750 USA