This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Share |

Current Officers (2019 & 2020)

Officers of International Planetarium Society are elected by the members of the organization
in accordance with the Standing Rules and By-Laws of the IPS.

Mark SubbaRao photo


Mark SubbaRao

Adler Planetarium
1300 S. Lake Shore Drive
Chicago, Illinois USA 60605
Phone: +1 312 294 0348

Shawn Laatsch photo

Past President

Shawn Laatsch

Emera Astronomy Center
167 Rangeley Road
Orono, Maine USA 04469
Phone: +1 207 581 1341

Kaoru Kimurah photo


Kaoru Kimura

Associate professor
Otsuma Women's University
12 Sanban-cho, Chiyoda-ku 
Tokyo, 102-8357, Japan

Executive Secretary

Patty Seaton

Howard B. Owens Science Center
9601 Greenbelt Road
Lanham, MD 20706
Phone: 301-906-5990


Ann Bragg, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Physics
Director, Anderson Hancock Planetarium
Marietta College
215 Fifth Street
Marietta, Ohio 45750 USA
+1 740-376-4589

Director of Operations

Jennie Benjamins

Managing Matters
411 Richmond Street East, Suite 200
Toronto, Ontario M5A3S5


The Board consists of the Officers and up to three board members from each of six geographic zones: Africa, North America, Latin America, Asia, Europe, and Oceania.


Officers, affiliate representatives and committee chairs at IPS 2018 in Toulouse, France.
Officers, affiliate representatives, and committee chairs at IPS 2018 in Toulouse, France.
From left, Alan Gould, Javier Armentia, Susan Button, Martin George, Ann Bragg, Aase Roland Jacobsen, Frank Florian, Jeanne Bishop, Lee Pullen, Mark SubbaRao, Derek Demeter, Yarosla Gubchenko, Kevin Williams, Björn Voss, Loris Ramponi, Levent Gurdemir, Shawn Laatsch, Joanne Young, Mike Smail, Jaap Vreeling, Charlie Morrow, Manos Kitsonas, John Hare, Michele Wistisen, Jack Northrup, Milene Wèndling, Benjamin Mendelsohn, Sumito Hirota. Photo by Dale Smith.

Affiliate Organizations

   (& date of affiliation)

See detailed listing for Affiliate Representatives and contact information.

African Planetarium Association (APA) (2019)
Association of Brazilian Planetariums (ABP) (2007)
Association of Dutch Speaking Planetariums (ADSP) (2002)
Association of French Speaking Planetariums (APLF) (1993)
Association of Mexican Planetariums (AMPAC) (1984)
Association of Spanish Planetariums (APLE) (2001)
Australasian Planetarium Society (APS) (1999)
British Association of Planetaria (BAP) (1978)
Canadian Association of Science Centres (CASC) (1996)
Chinese Planetarium Society (CPS) (2011)
European/Mediterranean Planetarium Association (EMPA) (1978)
Great Lakes Planetarium Association (GLPA)
Great Plains Planetarium Association (GPPA)
Italian Association of Planetaria (IAP) (1992)
Japan Planetarium Association (JPA) (1993) (2007)
Middle Atlantic Planetarium Society (MAPS)
Nordic Planetarium Association (NPA) (1986)
Pacific Planetarium Association (PPA)
Rocky Mountain Planetarium Association (RMPA)
Russian Planetariums Association (RPA) (1994)
Society of German-Speaking Planetariums (GDP) (1994)
Southeastern Planetarium Association (SEPA)
Southwestern Association of Planetariums (SWAP)

about ips | find a planetarium | officers | privacy policy

International Planetarium Society, Inc | c/o Ann Bragg, Treasurer | Marietta College, 215 Fifth Street | Marietta, Ohio 45750 USA