Awards Committee Report 2009
Share |


I. Function of the Committee
To suggest to off-conference year Council worthy planetarians for IPS Service
Award, IPS Technology and Innovation Award, and IPS fellowship. The work of
the Committee is governed by IPS By-laws and Standing Rules.

II. Committee Chair and Committee Members
Lars Broman, Chair, Teknoland and Strömstad Academy,,;
Jeanne E Bishop, Westlake Schools Planetarium,;
Thomas Kraupe, Hamburg Planetarium, and

III. Accomplishments of the Committee
Written Call for nominations in Planetarian 4/2008. Sent reminder in April 2009
to all Affiliate representatives and, through Shawn Laatsch, to all IPS members.
This, together with our own search, has led to a number of suggestions of award
winners and IPS fellows, who will be presented to IPS Council in Toulouse in
July 2009. Time for nominations was closed 15 May 2009.

IV. Future Goals of the Committee
To prepare Awards, a President's Plaque, and Fellowship diplomas for IPS'10 in
Alexandria, following the decision of Council in Toulouse. Write a new Call for
nominations in Planetarian 4/2010 for Awards and Fellowships to be given in

V. Budget Requirements US$ 400 for 2010.

VI. Comments -

VII. Summary/Abstract
The Awards Committee is one of IPS' Standing Committees. It has prepared a list
of suggested recipients of Service Award, Technology and Innovation Award, and
IPS Fellows to Council in Toulouse, France in July 2009, to be given during
IPS'10 in Alexandria, Egypt.

Respectfully submitted, Lars Broman.

Top of page

about ips | find a planetarium | officers | privacy policy

International Planetarium Society, Inc | c/o Ann Bragg, Treasurer | Marietta College, 215 Fifth Street | Marietta, Ohio 45750 USA