IPS Awards Committee Report 2012
Share |

International Planetarium Society

Awards and Fellowships Presented at IPS '12 in Baton Rouge, Louisiana

2012 Award Winners Lars Broman

Chair, IPS Awards Committee

During the awards luncheon in Baton Rouge 25 July 2012, first the following ten planetarians were named Fellows:

  • Alexandre Cherman, Brazil
  • Alex Delivorias, Greece
  • Tom Mason, Northern Ireland, UK
  • Bj√∂rn Hedén, Sweden
  • Bart Benjamin, USA
  • Gail Chaid, USA
  • Christopher S. Reed, USA
  • John Schroer, USA
  • Sharon Shanks, USA
  • David Weinrich, USA

They were given each the classical Fellow diploma, used since the 1980s.

The President Award was given to our Past President Tom Mason. This year, no Technology and Innovation Award was given. So, concluding the awards ceremony, the prestigious Service Award was given to two well-deserving planetarians, both well-known to the readers of Planetarian:

  • Planetarian Editor Sharon Shanks
  • Long-time Planetarian Associate Editor and Columnist April S. Whitt.

Since 2008, awards are engraved heavy pieces of crystal glass, hand-made at Nybro Crystal, Sweden. The names of all previous Awardees and Fellows are found elsewhere on this site. The complete rules are found on page 16 in IPS Bylaws and Standing Rules.

about ips | find a planetarium | officers | privacy policy

International Planetarium Society, Inc | c/o Ann Bragg, Treasurer | Marietta College, 215 Fifth Street | Marietta, Ohio 45750 USA