This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
August 2020 IPS Communicator
Communicator logo
IPS Newsletter — Issue 18 — AUGUST 2020

 


#IPSvCon2020
Image: screen capture of the IPS Virtual Conference zoom session showing a number of attendees

It was great seeing everyone at the virtual conference. If you attended please fill out our survey.


New IPS YouTube Channel
Image: particle visualization image background

Presentations and video posters from IPSvCon2020 are or will soon be available on the IPS’s new YouTube channel: subscribe today.


Virtual IMERSA Days
Image: IMERSA Days logo

Dates: August 14, 21, and 28th, 2020

Time: 9 a.m. PDT/10 a.m MDT/noon EDT/4 p.m. GMT/6 p.m. CEDT/midnight Tokyo

Think of it as a three-part series, with each episode about two hours, all held on Zoom, with ample opportunities to learn, discuss, and share without the fatigue of a full-day online conference. Best of all, it's free to attend! Register here.

Featuring the best of what we planned to offer at the cancelled IPS conference in July, our three virtual IMERSA Days will give you that fix! We have two exciting talks planned, panels on the business of art in the dome, a panel on state-of-the-art camera technologies, an open discussion on the impact of COVID-19 on our community, and more!

For more information check out the IMERSA website.


International Observe the Moon Night 2020
Image: First Quarter Moon courtesy of Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Saturday, 9/26/2020

International Observe the Moon Night is a worldwide celebration of lunar science and exploration held annually since 2010. One day each year, everyone on Earth is invited to observe and learn about the Moon together, and to celebrate the cultural and personal connections we all have with our nearest neighbor.

The event occurs in September or October when the Moon is around first quarter. A first quarter Moon is visible in the afternoon and evening, a convenient time for most hosts and participants. Furthermore, the best lunar observing is typically along the dusk/dawn terminator, where shadows are the longest, rather than at full Moon.

Fore more information check the official website.


History of Planetaria - What to Preserve, and How
Image: astrolabe

Webinar presented by the IPS Working Group for the History of the Planetarium

Sept. 3, 9:00 am CDT (2:00 pm UT)

Speakers will include curators, historians, and planetarium professionals. Participants will be invited to share their views and experiences relating to the preservation, accessibility, and use of varied sources for the history of planetaria, such as: planetarium archives; projectors and related planetarium equipment; sky shows and other AV materials; buildings. We will discuss the importance of these varied historical sources as well best practices for their preservation, cataloging, accessibility, and public presentation.

Final details and registration info will circulate soon and appear in the IPS website.


Portable Planetariums: Momentum & Reopening Strategies
Image: Kindergarten students in Japan wait to visit a portable dome; photo provided by Hiroshi Futami

All planetariums have been hit hard by the COVID-19 pandemic. A new sixth document has been added on the Portable Planetarium Resource web page with some ideas for survival and recovery from Joanna Holt.

From Dr. Joanna Holt, Netherlands Research School for Astronomy (NOVA) and Anton Pannekoek Institute for Astronomy, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

Here are the other available documents on that page:

From Susan Button - IPS Portable Planetarium Committee

  • Ideas for Keeping the Momentum of your Program & Reopening Strategies (.pdf or .docx)

From Digitalis Education Solutions, Inc.

From Professor Patricia Reiff


A Sense of Place: Indigenous Perspectives on Earth and Sky
Image: Indigenous perspectives webinar logo

Webinar featuring Dr. Robin Wall Kimmerer

Aug. 20, 2020 12:00 pm in Pacific Time (US and Canada), 7:00 pm UTC.

Author of Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigebous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge, and the Teachings of Plants, Professor Kimmerer continues her work at SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor at SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry. The webinar series A Sense of Place: Indigenous Perspectives on Earth and Sky is a team effort of the Indigenous Education Institute, San Juan Island National Historical Park, and BLM Collaborative Action and Dispute Resolution.

To register go here.


Important Dates

To verify the time for your specific time zone, please go to the Time Zone Converter website.




about ips | find a planetarium | officers | privacy policy
DONATE

International Planetarium Society, Inc | c/o Ann Bragg, Treasurer | Marietta College, 215 Fifth Street | Marietta, Ohio 45750 USA