This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
News: News for Planetarians

IPS Members among ASP winners

Thursday, August 29, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Sharon Shanks
Share |

ASP Logo


Two members of the IPS are among winners of annual awards presented by the Astronomical Society of the Pacific.

Jay Pasachoff

Awarded to an individual or individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the public understanding and appreciation of astronomy, the Klumpke-Roberts Award for 2019 goes to Prof. Jay Pasachoff, Field Memorial Professor of Astronomy and Director, Hopkins Observatory, Williams College, Massachusetts, for his lifelong endeavor as a popular and scholarly communicator.


Pete Detterline

The Thomas J. Brennan Award is given to an individual demonstrating excellence in the teaching of astronomy at the high school level in North America. Peter Detterline, Planetarium Director and high school astronomy teacher for the Boyertown Area School District in Boyertown, Pennsylvania, is the 2018 recipient.

Detterline recently counted his 500,000th visitor to the district planetarium and has also been a part-time astronomy instructor at several local colleges and universities. Several generations of students have been inspired to a greater interest, in and involvement with, astronomy through his passion. He has participated in and made contributions to a host of science education programs outside his area, including a robotic observatory in New Mexico, the Mars Desert Research Station, the AAVSO, and the Astronomy in Chile Educator Ambassador Program. He has written observing and observatory manuals, research papers, newspaper columns, and more.


The Richard H Emmons Award

The award, established by past IPS President Jeanne Bishop and her husband, Allan, to honor her father, an astronomer with a lifelong dedication to astronomy education, by creating an award that recognizes and celebrates outstanding achievement in the teaching of college-level introductory astronomy for non-science majors.

The award was given to Prof. Nick Schneider, University of Colorado, for his innovative teaching methods.

You can read complete details at the ASP website.

about ips | find a planetarium | officers | privacy policy

International Planetarium Society, Inc | c/o Ann Bragg, Treasurer | Marietta College, 215 Fifth Street | Marietta, Ohio 45750 USA