This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
News & Press: News for Planetarians

"Anti-Faculty" meetings for Astro101

Friday, January 11, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Sharon Shanks
Share |

Cute logo for Astronomy meetingFor planetarians (and others) who teach astronomy on a college/university level and despair because they feel isolated and all alone, take heart: Astro Base Camp (ABC) welcomes you.

Astro101 Teachers

Just for you

As announced by Katie Berryhill and Tim Slater on Dome-L, ABC is a weekly video teleconference - an "anti-faculty meeting" - to discuss issues and problems you are facing with your classes with colleagues. 

From Dome-L: "This spring, Astro Base Camp meets via zoom desktop video-teleconferencing on Mondays at 6pm eastern, 5pm central, 4pm mountain, and 3pm pacific (folks in Arizona, Hawai'i, and Australia will have to guess what time that is) during the academic year.

MARK YOUR CALENDARS

Our next Astro Base Camp meeting is at 6pm eastern, 5pm central, 4pm mountain, and 3pm pacific starting Monday, January 14, 2019 and on Mondays thereafter for the rest of the semester. We meet using zoom at http://zoom.us/my/caperteam from your phone or computer.

Moreover, if you'd like to extend the conversation outside of our weekly hour-long meeting, we are all set up at astrobasecamp.slack.com to continue the discussion, share materials, and otherwise commune remotely with like-minded astronomy educators for support, brainstorming, and camaraderie. As a first step on the journey, come over and sign up at https://tinyurl.com/abc-signup-23, then mark your calendar for Monday afternoons."

 

You can learn more from 

Katie Berryhill at katie.berryhill -at- gmail.com

or Tim Slater at timslater -at- gmail.com


about ips | find a planetarium | officers | privacy policy
DONATE

International Planetarium Society, Inc | c/o Ann Bragg, Treasurer | Marietta College, 215 Fifth Street | Marietta, Ohio 45750 USA